OK, here is a question that pops up for me whenever I am in a group that discusses or critiques fiction. Is there a fundamental difference in what women and men look for in a novel? The men tend to deny there is any difference but women usually agree.

My own observation has been that male readers tend to look for action and plot. Female readers want to get into the characters more and see plot as serving to flesh out the characters and make them more real. I admit to the female side of this bias. I comes through in my writing. While I understand the importance of action and plot, my intent is to hook the reader into identifying with one or more characters and wanting to see how they resolve their situations with intent and feeling, rather than chance events.

I know, I know. It is not a good idea to generalize. I am quite aware that both sexes can cover the entire spectrum on both aspects. I have among my friends some very evolved males. And I love them, especially when they like what I write. (haha) But that does not negate the original premise.

I would love to find out, possibly through a poll, whether my observation is valid. After all, I am only one observer, and female at that. Let me know what you all think.

